Corbyn at the Polling Station
Corbyn at the Polling Station


General Election 2019

With the General Election scheduled for December 12th 2019, your local Labour Parliamentary Candidate for Bury St Edmunds & Stowmarket is: CLIFF WATERMAN

Fine out more about Cliff here. 

To contact Cliff, or to volunteer for his General Election campaign, please head here!

West Suffolk Council & Mid Suffolk District Council Elections 2019

On Thursday 2nd May elections took place for the newly formed West Suffolk Council, after the merger between Forest Heath District Council & St Edmundsbury Borough Council, as well as for all the parishes in West Suffolk and Mid Suffolk District Council.

We’re extremely pleased to announce that we now have 5 Labour District Councillors on the new, enlarged West Suffolk District Council – 3 up from the previous 2:

  • Diane Hind – Tollgate Ward (previous sitting Councillor for St Edmundsbury)
  • Max Clarke – St Olaves Ward (previous sitting Councillor for St Edmundsbury)
  • Cliff Waterman – Eastgate Ward (Bury St Edmunds)
  • Pat Hanlon – Haverhill East Ward
  • Dave Smith – Haverhill South Ward

We have also won an additional 6 Town Councillors in Bury St Edmunds, so we now have 8 rather than the previous 2:

  • Diane Hind – Tollgate Ward (previous sitting Councillor)
  • Kevin Hind – Tollgate Ward (previous sitting Councillor)
  • Cliff Waterman – Eastgate Ward
  • Katie Parker – St Olaves Ward
  • Darren Turner – Out Westgate Ward
  • Donna Higgins – Minden Ward
  • Cyrille Bouche – Moreton Hall Ward
  • Nicola Iannelli-Popham – Abbeygate Ward




On Thursday 12th April the elections for the Borough Council took place, with our candidate is MAX CLARKE winning the election by a landslide!



Labour – 365 (58.6%)
Conservatives – 150 (24.1%)
Independent – 77 (12.4%)
Liberal Democrats – 31 (5%)

Overall ballots – 625
Spoiled ballots – 2
Turnout – 18.58% (good for a by-election)

General Election 2017:
We extend a thank you to everyone for all their hard work and time they put in for our June 8th 2017 General Election Campaign. We ran a great and positive campaign and it shows.

The result was as follows:

Bury St Edmunds constituency results (2017): 
Liam Byrne, Independent – 852
Jo Churchill, Conservative Party – 36,794
Bill Edwards, Labour Party – 18,353
Helen Geake, Green Party – 2,596
Helen Korfanty, Liberal Democrat – 3,565

That is 7,839 more votes than in 2015. It also makes up 29.5% of the BSE Constituency vote share, our highest since 2001
So a massive well done to all those who campaigned and helped in whatever way they could!

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search